Georgia Association of Homes and Services for Children   

Board and Committee Lists
(Year Elected to Board)

Board Officers
Mike Angstadt (04), Twin Cedars - 07,08
Vice President: 
Phil Kouns (07) - Christian City - 08,09
Secretary: Doug Mead (04), Georgia Agape - 07,08
Treasurer: Karl Lehman (06), Childkind, 08,09
Immediate Past President: Steve Rumford (04), The Methodist Home for Children and Youth


Family Preservation and Support Services – Bonnie Lockwood (08), Cornerstone Counseling Center 08,09,10
Child Placing Agency – Linda Coil (08), Community Connections, 08,09,10
Foster Care – Gary Stout (06), Meritan, 06,07,08
Child Caring Institution – John Blend (09), Goshen Valley Boys' Ranch 09,10,11
Intermediate Institutional Care – Ralph Comerford (06), Vashti, 06,07,08
Intensive Residential Provider – Warren Tettey (08), Psychiatric Solutions, 08,09,10
Mental Health Service Provider – Hugo Mullins (07), Family Ties, 07,08,09
At Large - Whitney Fuchs (09), 09,10,11
At Large - Pat Showell (07), Families First,07,08,09

Ex Officio - Catalyst for CARE Board President - Sally Rosser


Standing Committees

Finance Committee - Assn Standing Committee
Chair - Karl Lehman, Childkind,  (Bylaws require naming Treasurer as Chair)
Gary Johnstone, 06,07,08

Phil Kouns, 07,08,09

Nomination Committee (Past President is chair, 4 members nominated by committee and elected by membership ( only 2-year rotating
Chair - Steve Rumford (Bylaws required naming Past President as Chair)
Tyra Walker, Winshape, 08,09
Linda Coil, Community Connections, 07, 08
Rutha Greene, Tapestry Youth Ministries 09, 10
Laura Moore, Dream House for Medically Fragile Children, 08,09

Other Ad Hoc Committees (all members and chairs serve no more than 3 years)

Conference - Ad Hoc
Chair - Phil Kouns
Staff -
Jessica Cole

Charlotte Stephens, Lynne Taylor, Sheri Cody, Cathi Durham, Susan Ewers, Kathy Waldrop, Rosanne Maltese, Doug Mead, Barbara Phillips Lynne Taylor, and Gary Stout


ORS / GAHSC Liaison Committee - Ad Hoc
Chair - Phil Kouns 07,08,09

Staff - Normer Adams and Carolyn Fjeran
Brian Evans - Georgia Industrial Children's Home
Keith Bostick, DHR, ORS, CCS

Sharon Doughtery, DHR,  ORS

Carol Winstead, DHR, ORS, CCS


Quality Assurance/Best Practice/Research Committee - Ad Hoc

Chair - Ralph Comerford
Staff - Normer Adams and Carolyn Fjeran

Brian Evans
Debbie Atkins

Sister Mary Alvin

Chapters -(Provider group board representatives named as chairs)

Child Caring Institutions

Chairs - John Blend, Goshen Valley Boy's Ranch and Ralph Comerford, Vashti          

      Family Foster Care Chapters,

Specialized Foster Care
hair - Gary Stout, Meritan
Family Foster Care

Chair – Linda Coil, Community Connections and Pat Showell, Families First

Family Preservation Chapter

             Chair - Bonnie Lockwood, Cornerstone Counseling Center

Mental Health Provider Chapter

                   Chair - Hugo Mullins, Family Ties

Psychiatric Residential Treatment Facility (PRTF) Chapter
Chair - Warren Tettey, Psychiatric Solutions


Staff Committees - established by staff to inform programming

Staff - Normer Adams -
Laura Moore, Mike Angstadt, Cindy Simpson, Brian Evans, Andy Barclay, Sally Rosser


*The calendar year for the Association begins the day after the Annual Conference and ends the last day of the Annual Conference.  For example, 2007 would begin the day after the 2007 Annual Conference and end the last day of the 2008 Annual Conference.  


Archived 2007, 2006, 2005, 2004, 2003, 2002, 2001


GAHSC Home Page  Referral Central  Index  Contacting Us

Site contents are Copyright 2003,  Georgia Association of Homes and Services for Children
Updated by Normer Adams on 09/26/14 10:11 AM -0400                                  .