Provider Watch - March 2, 2009 - House Approves CPA Rate Restoration

The House voted on the FY2009 amended budget last week and restored for the last quarter of the year Child Placing Agency rates for the lowest three levels of care.  We are pleased that the House heard the difficulty our agencies are having in caring for State custody children in our private agencies with per diems that have been cut over 25% in the last two years.  Another rate cut on top of rate cuts sustained when we moved from LOC to RBWO would spell the end to many more agencies.  Since DHR implemented rate cuts in October, we know four CPAs have closed their doors to serving children.  If Georgia is to maintain any capacity in the private sector in Child Placing Agencies, then looking to rate cuts to balance the State budget is not the way to do it. 

The House version of the budget would restore CPA rates to pre-October levels for the last quarter, probably effective April 1st.

The Senate takes up this budget this week.  Their proposed recommendations are to keep the rate cuts of DHR.  Since there is a difference between the House and the Senate, these differences will go to Conference Committee for reconciliation. 

Our advocacy must now turn to the Conference Committee Members to keep the House version of the budget. 

It matters that you email these legislators.  The email letter need not be very sophisticated but heart felt and include a specific ask.  Please take a moment to write an email to these Legislators asking that they restore "Child Placing Agency reimbursement rates for the lowest 3 levels of care for one quarter." 

Lieutenant Governor Casey Cagle - 240 State Capitol, Atlanta, GA 30334 FAX: (404) 656-6739 email
Glenn Richardson Speaker of the House, Room 332 State Capitol, Atlanta, Georgia 30334 glenn.richardson@house.ga.gov

Senate Appropriations Conference Committee Members:
Senator Jack Hill (R-Reidsville) - jack.hill@senate.ga.gov 
Senator Chip Rogers
(R-Woodstock) chip.rogers@senate.ga.gov  
Senator Tommie Williams (R-Lyons) - tommie@tommiewilliams.com   

House Appropriations Conference Committee Members:
Representative Ben Harbin (R-Evans) - ben.harbin@house.ga.gov  
Representative Jerry Keen (R-St. Simons Island) - jerry.keen@house.ga.gov  
Representative Mark Burkhalter (R-Johns Creek) - mark.burkhalter@house.ga.gov  
_
__________________________________
Provider Watch, an email newsletter of the
Georgia Association of Homes
and Services for Children
as a public service.
http://www.gahsc.org                            
                            Normer Adams, Editor

___________________________________

Catalyst for CARE Annual Conference April 27-29, 2009

GAHSC Membership Application  
GAHSC Membership List
GAHSC Member Calendar of Events